Skip to content

Fifth and Final Day of Registrations

The last day of registrations proved to be the most active, with several political heavy-weights like Eshaq Jahangiri, Saeed Jalili, Ali Larijani and Ebrahim Raisi all registering. In addition, a number of prominent Iranian political figures registered whose names would be headlines had it not been such an important day. Among these are Ezzatollah Zarghami, Mohsen Hashemi (prominent Reformist and son of former President Rafsanjani), Masoud Pezeshkian, Mostafa Kavakebian and Mohsen Rezaei. Also notable was confirmation of withdrawal for candidacy by Mohammad-Reza Aref, and a similar withdrawal by Sadegh Kharazi, both of whom are high-profile Reformists who served the Khatami administration. Finally, other noteworthy applicants are Abolhassan Firuzabadi (head of national cyberspace centre), Seyyed Shamseddin Hosseini (Ahmadinejad era minister), Abbas Akhundi (on the Reform Front list), Ali-Reza Zakani (former conservative MP), Mohammad Shariatmadari (on the Reform Front list), Mohsen Rohami (Reformist cleric), and Mostafa Zaribafan (Ahmadinejad cabinet member).

See photographs of the last day of registrations at ISNA